Trouble with New Module Wizard and Module Management Wizard

Poster Content
nk4um Administrator
Posts: 158
July 24, 2008 14:15Learning NetKernel
Sam,

You are welcome!

I''m glad we are past this first bump in the road to learning NetKernel. You make a good point about permissions, Vista and the location of the NetKernel install. I''ll see how we can mitigate this.

I have recently created and posted a series of videos to help people get to know NetKernel - you might find them useful. They are at http://www.1060research.com/netkernel/videos/

I also have two HowTos that are not yet published that describe in detail how to get Eclipse and IntelliJ to work as development and debugging IDEs for NetKernel Java code development. Let me know if you are interested in these.

We look forward to hearing about your progress and any further questions you may have.

Kind regards,

Randy
Like · Post Reply
nk4um User
Posts: 8
July 23, 2008 23:02Vista
Randy,

Thanks again for the quick replies. Clearing the scratch, restarting the netkernel server, and refreshing the Module Deployment Report in my browser (Opera) got rid of the mention of the module.

Incidentally, although it was a bit disheartening to run into problems so soon after deciding to experiment with NetKernel, I always try to allow myself a bit of "noob time" to get to grips with a new system. This, combined with the volume of enthusiastic support on this forum, mitigated the disheartenment entirely; I''m very glad to have discovered NetKernel and look forward to getting to know it better.

pjr,

While working through the issues above, I had begun to wonder whether at least the zeroth problem above mightn''t have been due to Vista permissions. It seems it was: unless I run the NetKernel server as Administrator in Vista, it doesn''t seem to be able to create new directories under C:\\Program Files - and therefore can''t create a new physical module under C:\\Program Files\\1060-NKSEDK-3.3.1\\modules . This is quite a big problem, as running the server as the Administrator is explicitly recommended against in the NetKernel manual for security. I think I may reinstall in C:\\1060\\NKSE-3.3.1\\ as you have done, which should sidestep the problem.

Many thanks all,

Sam
Like · Post Reply
nk4um Moderator
Posts: 901
July 23, 2008 20:03Vista?
Hi Sam,

I saw your blog post about having search problems on Vista.  The module wizard has been around for 4 years and is tested on Linux, Mac and XP.  I wonder if you have a vista permissions problem on C:\\Program Files\\ ?  My other thought is that somehow the space in the path is causing problems - although the URI is correctly escaped.

I''m a linux user but I just tried the wizard on Vista in an install directory of C:\\1060\\NKSE-3.3.1\\ and used your module name interpreader_core and had no problem.

Please can you look at permissions and perhaps try installnig to a path without spaces?

Cheers,

Peter
Like · Post Reply
nk4um Administrator
Posts: 158
July 23, 2008 19:05Recovering...
Sam,

Thank you for your patience!

I''m not sure what went wrong with the Module Wizard. I''ll talk to the developer and see if we can figure out what might have gone wrong.

To get you back on track exploring NetKernel, here is what I suggest... Shutdown NetKernel and in the [install]/scratch/ directory, select and delete everything. That will delete the scratch areas of all modules (probably not yet used) and other items that are stored there for performance reasons. When you restart NetKernel it may take a little while to reindex, etc. but then you should have a clean start again.

You should also check [install]/etc/deployedModules.xml and make sure there are no references to the module you tried to create.

Then restart NetKernel and the Module Deployment report should not list your module and you should be ready to try again.

Please let me know how things work out for you and I''m sorry for this road bump - just as you are starting to use NetKernel!

Regards,

Randy


Like · Post Reply
nk4um User
Posts: 8
July 23, 2008 18:53Re: Location of new module created by Wizard
Dear Randy,

Thanks for the quick response.

In the documentation [install] is a short hand notation for "the directory into which NetKernel was installed".

When you say that the Module Deployment Report says the physical location contains the characters "[install]..." I must presume that you mean literally those characters.


I should perhaps have been clearer. Where I have used [install] above, I have used it to refer to the directory in which NetKernel was installed. The Module Deployment Report does not use that string. It gives the location of the module in question as file:///C:/Program%20Files/1060-NKSEDK-3.3.1/modules/interpreader_core/

Hope this clarifies things!

Sam

NB. The reasons I used [install] rather than just giving the full path in each case above are that:
1) Writing [install] is shorter than, and was intended to mean the same thing as, the full install path.
2) Writing [install] makes the discussion more readable for others, who may not have NetKernel installed in the same directory on their systems as I have it installed in on mine.
Like · Post Reply
nk4um Administrator
Posts: 158
July 23, 2008 18:41Location of new module created by Wizard
Sam,

Curious...

In the documentation
[install]
is a short hand notation for "the directory into which NetKernel was installed".

When you say that the Module Deployment Report says the physical location contains the characters "[install]..." I must presume that you mean literally those characters. If so, we may have found the point of error or confusion. There is probably no valid physical location name with "...[install]...".

If the report has those literal characters, then maybe the characters "[install]" where entered into the Module Wizard and NetKernel tried to create the directory at a location that the operating system the rejected (with an exception). If so, then NetKernel didn''t correctly detected the Java exception and proceeded thinking that the directory was created.

Do you think this is a correct analysis? If so, I''ll try to duplicate on my system.

Regards,

Randy

Like · Post Reply
nk4um User
Posts: 8
July 23, 2008 18:29Re: I just filed a bug report about this
If you are using entrypoints in your module (entrypoints.xml file), one thing that can help is to do a Quick Entrypoint Reindexing. For modules which have been changed and reloaded, you can often "sneak up" on the any changed entrypoint links (such as new or updated documentation) through the QER report.

I''ll bear that in mind for future reference (perhaps you could put it in the documentation if it isn''t there already?), but it has no bearing on my case, as no module directory (and therefore not a single module XML file at all, let alone an entrypoints.xml file) was created for the module.

Thanks for the reply, though.

Sam
Like · Post Reply
nk4um User
Posts: 8
July 23, 2008 18:24Re: New Module Wizard
Hi Randy,

Thanks for the welcome! I''ll quickly reply to your suggestions, to explain where I''m up to.
Run the Module Deployment Report and locate your module. At the bottom of the section about your module is the line starting with "source:" - that will tell you the physical location where NetKernel is finding your module.

I was already aware of this, and should have been more detailed in my first post. I should have explained that after running the New Module Wizard and performing a hot restart, the Module Deployment Report''s "source:" line for the module stated that the module was physically located at [install]/modules/[modulename]/ (which in the case I''m currently working on is file:///C:/Program%20Files/1060-NKSEDK-3.3.1/modules/interpreader_core/ ). However, browsing the filetree in Windows Explorer showed that there existed no directory called interpreader_core\\ within C:\\Program Files\\1060-NKSEDK-3.3.1\\modules\\ .

The zeroth problem, then, is: why didn''t the New Module Wizard create the C:\\Program Files\\1060-NKSEDK-3.3.1\\modules\\interpreader_core directory and put a module.xml file inside it?

The first problem is still unsolved, and is as described in my first post above.
I went to the Module Management Wizard, located my module, marked it for deletion and then restarted the system.

I did this too, as mentioned in my first post.
The physical directory for the module remains (NetKernel will not physically remove a module), however the entry in [install]/etc/InstalledModules.xml has the entry for my module marked with <disabled>...</disabled> tags.

In my case, there was no physical directory for the module (because the NMW hadn''t created one, see above) when I began the process of deleting the module via the Module Management Wizard, and there was no physical directory for the module afterwards.

There is no [install]/etc/InstalledModules.xml file on my system. There is, however, an [install]/etc/deployedModules.xml file. It contains no mention at all of the module in question. This was to be expected because, as mentioned in my first post, recursively grepping the [install] directory for the module''s name yields no results.

The second problem mentioned in my first post is therefore also unsolved.
I then run the Module Deployment report and I -did- still find the module listed (this may be a bug where in this report is cached too aggressively). I re-requested the report and it no longer appears in that report.

I wasn''t so fortunate. Re-requesting the report has no effect: the module is still listed.

Thus the third problem in my first post remains unsolved too.

Thanks again for the help; evidently I could still use some more advice!

Sam
---
Windows Vista Home Premium on Macbook 2.13GHz 2GB RAM via Leopard Bootcamp
NetKernel Distribution:   3.3.1
NetKernel Kernel:   2.8.5
JVM: 1.6.0_07
Like · Post Reply
nk4um User
Posts: 47
July 23, 2008 16:10I just filed a bug report about this
My apologies....the overly-aggressive caching is a long-standing problem and I thought I had filed a report some time ago but, apparently, I hadn''t.

If you are using entrypoints in your module (entrypoints.xml file), one thing that can help is to do a Quick Entrypoint Reindexing. For modules which have been changed and reloaded, you can often "sneak up" on the any changed entrypoint links (such as new or updated documentation) through the QER report.

Unfortunately, this is a special case and doesn''t help in your situation of the deleted module still appearing.
Like · Post Reply
nk4um Administrator
Posts: 158
July 23, 2008 11:18New Module Wizard
Hi Sam and welcome to NetKernel!

On the second page of the New Module Wizard, in the last field, you put the physical location for the new module. This defaults to [install]/modules/{module-name} (which I think is that you desire).

Run the Module Deployment Report and locate your module. At the bottom of the section about your module is the line starting with "source:" - that will tell you the physical location where NetKernel is finding your module.

I just now used the Wizard to create a module at the report on it from the Module Deployment report is:


Randy v1.0.0
No Description

Publisher: My Org
Licence: 1060 Public License v1.0
view module detail

uri: urn:com.foo.randy
source: file:/Users/NetKernel/NK-install/1060-NetKernel-SE-DK3.3.1/modules/Randy/


I went to the Module Management Wizard, located my module, marked it for deletion and then restarted the system.

The physical directory for the module remains (NetKernel will not physically remove a module), however the entry in [install]/etc/InstalledModules.xml has the entry for my module marked with <disabled>...</disabled> tags.

<disabled>file:/Users/NetKernel/NK-install/1060-NetKernel-SE-DK3.3.1/modules/Randy/</disabled>


I then run the Module Deployment report and I -did- still find the module listed (this may be a bug where in this report is cached too aggressively). I re-requested the report and it no longer appears in that report.

With these steps and outcome described, you might want to retrace your steps and see where the expected result didn''t match what actually happened with NetKernel and let us know if there is still a problem.

Regards,

Randy
Like · Post Reply
nk4um User
Posts: 8
July 23, 2008 04:45Trouble with New Module Wizard and Module Management Wizard
Dear all,

I''m having some trouble with the New Module Wizard and the Module Management Wizard and would be very grateful for any assistance available.

I attempted to create a new module with the New Module Wizard. The New Mmodule Wizard did not report any problems, and after a hot restart, the Module Deployment Report showed the new module. However, a quick look at the [install]/modules directory revealed that no directory had been created for the new module, and that therefore it had no [install]/modules/[modulename]/module.xml file.

So that''s the first problem: how did the module end up in the Module Deployment Report if it wasn''t actually created?

Now the second problem: a recursive grep under the [install] directory, for the name of the module, gave no results. Where, then, was the Module Deployment Report retrieving the module''s name from in order to display it?

Finally, the third problem: running the Module Management Wizard to remove the module gave no error messages, but nonetheless, the module is still being displayed by the Module Deployment Report. How can I delete the module?

Many thanks in advance for your help,

Sam
Like · Post Reply